Goodbye to SADness!

Published March 26, 2011 by Claire

Sometimes I get a bit S.A.D., you know. Not sad. Not weepy, tearful, prone to clutching strangers arms on buses and telling them how dreadful my life is. No, a bit S.A.D.

Seasonal Affective Disorder, the quacks call it, but my children have renamed it Stroppy Arse Disease. Apparently during the winter months I am a victim of Stroppy Arse Disease – or rather, I am a carrier which makes them the victims! ūüėÄ

Seasonal Affective Disorder “is a mood disorder¬†in which people who have normal mental health¬†throughout most of the year experience depressive¬†symptoms in the winter or summer,¬†spring or autumn, repeatedly, year after year” . What that means, in layman’s (or laywoman’s – snigger) terms, is that from about October to about April I’m a right grumpy cow!

But not this year, because here we are, ’tis only the last week of March and the sun has got his hat on! I am a vision of grinning cheeriness and have cast away my woollen vests and combination underwear in flagrant disregard of my Grannie’s advice ¬†(“Cast ne’er a clout ’til May is out…”)

Naturally, though, should a gentleman specifically request the long johns and vest combo, I would do my best to accede to his wishes..

