Dear Brian..

Published November 10, 2010 by Claire

Dearest Brian,

This will be my last letter to you, as I simply cannot take the pain of your ignoring me like this. I lie awake at night, staring at the ceiling, crying desperately inside ‘Why? Why won’t he answer? Why will he not speak to me?’

I’m sure you can see that this is damaging my soul and so I must put our little romance behind me and move on, agony  though it will be.

You are a man like no other, a prince among men, nay, a God amongst mere mortals. Every word that drips from your honeyed lips (keyboard?) is like manna from Heaven to me. I live, simply, for your attention, and when you with-hold it from me I feel the blades of a thousand daggers shred my heart.

And  so, my darling, we must part. I will think of you, and the image I carry in my mind of you will stay with me until the day I die. There you are, in my mind’s eye – thinning pate, comb-over, Rigsby cardigan and piss-soaked slacks. Ah me, that I could approach such a vision. But it was not to be.

Goodbye, my love.

