Exit Strategy?

Published August 24, 2010 by Claire

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.”

This is of course the opening line of Jane Austen’s second novel, ‘Pride and Prejudice’. I like to paraphrase it as follows;

“It is a belief universally held, that a hooker in possession of working genitalia, must be in want of a knight in shining armour.”

Why is it that so many people, both within the ‘industry’ and outside, seem to think we are all Julia Roberts? Is it so unthinkable that this could be a choice? That perhaps we don’t want to be taken away from all this?

I don’t want to be ‘rescued’. I’m not cut out for monogamy and I don’t want to be dependant on anyone. Additionally, I love what I do! So the next man who shouts ‘Rapunzel, Rapunzel, let down your hair’ outside my double glazing is getting a size 8 trainer on his head.

